The stronghold of Brandenbourg is located 70 meter above the village of the same name. Its history dates back to the 9th century
when there was a wooden fortification. The keep dates from the 13th century and was originally four floors high. In the 14th century a
chapel was added and in the 15th and 16th century a baily, two towers and a curtain wall were added. The french attacked the castle in
1668 and after that it fell increasingly into ruin although it was privately owned until the middle of the 18th century. The castle was
abandoned and fell more into ruin. The State bought the castle and did extensive consolidation works in 1936 & 1950's.
Since the 80's more consolidation works have been done and archaeologist have explore the site.
The inside of the ruin can no longer be visited.